When Was Standstill Agreement Signed

Pakistan immediately denied membership and suggested that it was fraudulent, that the Maharajah had acted under duress and that he had no right to sign an agreement with India while the status quo agreement with Pakistan was still in force. Menon then flew to Jammu to discuss the Maharaja`s opinion of the government, then the Maharaja finally signed the accession instrument on October 26 and Menon returned to Delhi with Mahajan. At the same time that Hari Singh signed the accession instrument, the discussions have been lively for more than 50 years. The Kalat khanat, on the western outskirts of Pakistan, also decided to remain independent. It has signed a status quo agreement with Pakistan. Some local leaders of the princely states have tried to buy time by declaring that they will sign the status quo agreement, but not the accession instrument until they have had time to make up their minds. In response, the Indian government considered that it would only sign status quo agreements with the states that joined the Union. [4] Until August 15, 1947, the agreed date and date of India`s independence, all but four princely states, which are Indian, signed about 560 of them, both the accession instrument and the status quo agreement with India. The exceptions were Hyderabad, a large state in central South India, which received a two-month extension, and three small states of Gujarat: Junagadh and its subsidiaries (Mangrol and Babariawad).

[5] Both draft treaties were submitted to the House of Princes on July 25. A state negotiating committee was formed, which reviewed the two agreements, consisting of ten leaders and twelve ministers. After discussion, the Committee finalized the two draft agreements on 31 July. [3] The princely state of J-K had been placed under British rule by the Treaty of Amritsar in 1846, Signed between the East India Company and Maharaja Gulab Singh, founder of the Royal Dogra Dynasty, who paid 7.5 million rupees from Nanakshahi and bought the Kashmir Valley and Ladakh Wizarat (composed of Baltistan, Kargile and Jamm). who was already under his reign. Gilgit Wizarat (including the territories of Gilgit and Pamiri) was later conquered in the war by the Dogras war against the Sikhs. Nizam Osman Ali Khan was the leader of the Hindu majority state of Hyderabad, and his policies were dominated by the Muslim elite. Muslims in Ittehad ul, a powerful pro-Nizam Muslim party, insisted that Hyderabad remain an independent state on an equal footing with India and Pakistan.

The Indian government rejected Nizam`s company as a « legalistic claim of dubious validity. » It argued that Hyderabad`s strategic position could easily be used by foreign interests to threaten India.